Inspiration is the wind under your wings

5

You are the eagle and flying is your job  There are more skies in front of you  (Philosopher and Urdu poet, Allama Iqbal)

At times I cannot have enough of the above quote by Allama Iqbal, the famous Urdu poet.  It actually means that if we couldn’t achieve or get something that we set out to do, don’t fret because the whole world is in front of you.

Inspiration awakens the soul:

When I am inspired I get filled with energy and I feel my heart opens up and desire to create soars within me.  This desire to create overcomes procrastination and start projects or things that I had been putting off for a while. One afternoon I was going for my usual walk when the beautiful sunset inspired me or rather it awakened my soul.  After finishing the walk I went home and started sketching. In a couple of weeks I was sketching things that I was amazed at my own talent.  I could draw things that I had no idea how I got the dimensions right.  This awakening was very important for me because for decades I was told that I couldn’t sketch. So every time I sketched I broke the shell of this belief that I can’t sketch.

Inspiration is the wind under our wings:

sufismsymbolInspiration is the wind under our wings that lets us soar, cross boundaries and take us to places we thought we couldn’t go. Inspiration helps us move forward in life; it removes the darkness of low self-esteem that keeps us stuck in one place.

When I feel stuck, I go out for a walk. Mountains and clouds inspire me; they renew and reinforce confidence in myself. We are all different so there could be many ways of being inspired.

  • Go for a walk
  • Talk to friends
  • Read a book
  • Have a cup of coffee
  • Affirmation and positive self talk
  • Exercise
  • Meditation

Another of Iqbal’s verse that has always uplifted me, especially when the end doesn’t seem to be near, is:

1

There are many worlds beyond the stars  There are still many more tests for love (Allama Iqbal)

What inspires you?  What have you achieved when you were inspired?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inspiration is the wind under your wings

  1. Nasira says:

    Wah Majida Rashid another philosophical piece of writing by you . Every time you inspired me a lot . So proud of you .💕

Leave a Reply

