Four pennies and money block

3ca0ef606018029070695e3b152cbcc5

Nothing can be closer to the truth – as you will see in the post

Yesterday when I went to the fitting room of a clothing store I found four pennies on the floor. The dilemma was whether to take them or leave them and remembered what the presenter during Millionaire Mind seminar said, “If you find a penny on the street, pick it up, look up in the sky and say thank you, I am a money magnet.”

After attending the Millionaire Mind (MM) seminar I noticed my money pattern. I’ve always had highly paid jobs and I attract plenty of money but after a while I either can’t retain it or give it to others to handle it for me even for daily transaction. At times I don’t even open a bank account after moving to a new city, unless it’s absolutely necessary. Fortunately I am not a person who buys things for the sake of buying. I carefully select expensive items for my home and my friends frequently comment that my home is decorated like magazines. But I live very simply. I have never been attracted by the glitter of product or things I should buy because my friends bought them or I saw it advertised. The point I am making is that even though I spend money where I want to but I live a simple life.

After moving to Abu Dhabi, UAE, I completed my memoir in addition to my full time job. For years I frequented the coffee shop of an international hotel chain where the staff were extremely courteous.   One day after a debate, about whether to tip the same amount as the bill or less, I tipped the bill amount and left. As I drove out of their parking lot and stopped at the junction where the parking lot met the road, I saw Emirati Dirhams flying in the air. They then dropped in front of the car. I got out of the car, looked around but didn’t see a moving car or a person who may have lost the money. I took the notes and drove away. I repeated the ritual taught in MM seminar.

Why doesn’t money stick to me?

During MM seminar they asked the audience what did they think of money and many answers were given. A couple of themes that arose were:

  • Money is evil
  • Bad and manipulative people have money
  • I don’t deserve money

None of these resonated with me. My money pattern remained the same. Now when I was revising my memoir as per an agent’s suggestion I realized money patterns in my family.

I was born in a polygamous household:

I was born in a polygamous household. My father, a successful and a sought after lawyer, and his money were controlled by his second wife who didn’t want him to give any money to my mother or to us. She fought with him even when he paid our fee and it didn’t matter if he was paying cash for her sons’ education in America.  She could do this because my father allowed it in return for her favors.

My ex husband, like father’s second wife, was from a poor family and like her he loved and its-good-to-have-money-and-the-things-that-money-can-buy-but-its-good-too-to-checkup-once-in-a-while-that-you-havent-lost-the-things-that-money-cant-buy1controlled money which he needed to sustain his addiction.  He always gave me about 20 or 30 dollars for daily expenses and preferred to grocery shop himself. Like my father he would invariably argue if I asked for money, even though he didn’t have anyone else controlling him. When I started working I gave my salary to him in order to avoid my parental arguments. It never occurred to me to spend my money on myself. So when I worked on my money block I thought perhaps my block was that I don’t deserve money.

My money pattern:  

But as I was revising my memoir I got an ah ha moment about money. It was this: 

I don’t want to handle money because it brings trouble

Of course, children see the face value of adults’ interaction. They never see the real manipulation or greed behind a certain interaction. Now I am going to reverse the pattern for they say, “realization is the first step in releasing a habit.

Oh, I kept the four pennies that I found and put the intention of getting double the amount the next day.

What’s your money pattern? Are you satisfied with it? If not what are you going to do about it? Any suggestions about changing my money pattern?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Four pennies and money block

  1. allymccormick says:

    I never know where my money goes to. I certainly don’t spend it on myself very often, but I do spend it. This is something I’m trying to change, but when I heard you recommending Rhonda Byrne’s Magic book, I completed the month-long course practicing gratitude for money, amongst other things. It’s only been a month since I finished the book, and I have to say that I have several sources of large sums of money heading my way, all unexpected and very needed right now. You are right, money isn’t evil in itself. But we need to appreciate what we have and use it wisely.

  2. majdar2000 says:

    Thanks Ally for your comments. Did you follow what she said? I’m glad that her exercises helped you attract money. Thanks for visiting the blog.

  3. Leslie says:

    I love the book “The Magic” also and I noticed when I got to the day where I am supposed to write an amount that I want or need on the Magic check, I felt very greedy! It is for an upcoming vacation that we want to take and I found myself struggling with adding anything more than what would be absolutely necessary for the trip which I thought was interesting. I never realized until recently that I might have money issues! My mom was always generous with her money and her possessions; she was always giving things away or money to those who needed it and so fortunately I have tried to follow in her footsteps this way and I am so grateful that I learned this from her! So giving is not so much of an issue, as receiving! Thanks for the thought provoking article!

    • majdar2000 says:

      Thank you for your comments.  I will visit my blog and respond to your comments.

      From: apakistaniwomansjourney To: majdar2000@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, May 4, 2016 10:17 PM Subject: [apakistaniwomansjourney] Comment: “Four pennies and money block” #yiv3696145300 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3696145300 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3696145300 a.yiv3696145300primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3696145300 a.yiv3696145300primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3696145300 a.yiv3696145300primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3696145300 a.yiv3696145300primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3696145300 WordPress.com | | |

  4. majdar2000 says:

    Leslie, we, especially women, are taught worldwide to be more sacrificing. Because of the traditional role of women as ‘stay home mom’ women had to be financially dependent on men, hence we learn only to give and not to receive, which is also very important.

Leave a Reply

